Uncategorized

Writing with a Rhode Island Accent and other Horrors

My friend Rebecca Madigan cheered up a bleak afternoon by posting the link to I Write Like, a site which purports to analyze your writing style and compare it to famous authors.

My first entry was one of my earliest columns on Huffington Post and imagine my shock when the result was Providence’s own — H.P. Lovecraft.  I thought to myself, “shit, I write with a Rhode Island accent.”  So, I decided to test it out and was charmed to see that my tribute to Ted Kennedy yielded James Joyce.

I should have stopped there, content with my place among these great writers, but I didn’t.  So I entered in One Hundred Years of Solitude, Heart of Darkness, the Beatitudes and even Going Rogue.  Once I found out that Sarah Palin and I both wrote like Cory Doctorow, I had only one response albeit a crude one, as set forth below,  which apparently mirrors the style of Sandman author Neil Gaman.

The results are below with the columns submitted and the would be comparison.

Conservative Books for Dummies: Becoming a Conservative Author in Eight Easy Steps

Sarah Palin’s Christian Nation and the Road to Providence

Yields . . .

I write like
H. P. Lovecraft

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!



What Would Bobby Do?

One Hundred Years of Solitude (P.S.) [Paperback]

Gabriel Garcia Marquez (Author)

Yields . . .

I write like
Mario Puzo

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!



The Bush Presidency in Four Words

The Difference Between April and November Fools

Why Obama 2.0 Is Good for Innovation

Yields . . .


I write like

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!



Ted Kennedy: The Lion in Winter

The Beatitudes

I write like
James Joyce

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!



The Fog of Peace: Vietnam Myths and the March of Folly in Iraq

Yields . . .

I write like
Stephen King

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!



“Candy Bombers,” Obama and the End of Wal-Mart Nation (Mississippi Flood Update)

America’s Year of Living Dangerously

Yields . . .

I write like
Kurt Vonnegut

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!



Yields . . .

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!



Finally, entering “f*** you and the horse you road in on,” yielded the following.

I write like
Neil Gaiman

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

One thought on “Writing with a Rhode Island Accent and other Horrors

  1. Pingback: 2013 in Review | BGK Blog

Comments are closed.